I think that there are many issues to think about from the article about fishers from the nation’s largest salmon run fighting against a mine. In my opinion both sides have good points but I am mainly tilting to the fisherman’s side. First of all, I understand that with gold and copper being as valuable as it is, people want to mine it. Also I know it will produce over a thousand jobs, but it cannot happen if it can threaten an already damaged resource. Secondly, with this bay being part of one of the largest salmon runs the mine can pollute the water possibly killing thousands of salmon. And finally if the mine is created probably around two thousand jobs will be created, but if anything happens to the salmon over twelve thousand fishing related jobs will be lost. This is why with the information presented, I believe the only way to put this issue to rest is to stop the construction of the mine.




Leave a Reply.